Akhilesh-Mayawati are also not behind in changing the name, both changed the names of these places as CM

Mayawati Akhilesh Yogi: The politics of changing the name in Uttar Pradesh continues even in the second term of the Yogi government. It has started with the demand of BJP MLA Vinod Singh to change the name of Sultanpur district to ‘Kushbhavanpur’. The Yogi Adityanath government had changed the names of Allahabad, Mughalsarai, Faizabad in its previous tenure. But it is not new when the names of districts are being changed in UP. Earlier, former Chief Ministers Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati had also changed the names of many districts.

In the Bahujan Samaj Party government, Mayawati had named the districts of UP after the ideal men of her party. Yogi Adityanath is giving importance to the mythological names of the districts. But Akhilesh Yadav had allowed the present names of the districts to remain the same, that is, the names of the districts were not tampered with.

Mayawati changed the names of 9 districts
Mayawati in her government (2007-2012) Prabuddha Nagar in Shamli district, Bhim Nagar in Sambhal district, Panchsheel Nagar in Hapur district, Hathras district Mahamaya Nagar in Amroha district, Jyotiba Phule Nagar in Kasganj district, Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar in Amethi district, Ramabai Nagar in Kanpur Dehat and Sant Ravidas Nagar in Bhadohi district. 

Also read: UP: Thieves caught sight of lemon in skyrocketing inflation, threw 60 kg lemon worth Rs 300 a kg in Shahjahanpur

Akhilesh Yadav returned 9 districts to their old names
When Akhilesh Yadav became the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 2012, he reversed the names of all the 9 districts changed by the Mayawati government . All the districts were returned their earlier names. He replaced Shamli in place of Prabuddha Nagar, Sambhal instead of Bhima Nagar, Hapur instead of Panchsheel Nagar, Hathras instead of Mahamaya Nagar, Amroha instead of Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Kasganj instead of Kanshi Ram Nagar, Amethi instead of Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar, Ramabai instead of Nagar. Kanpur Dehat and Sant Ravidas Nagar were destroyed. That is, the districts of Uttar Pradesh that we know by its name today, Akhilesh Yadav allowed the same name to remain the same, did not tamper with it.

Yogi is changing the names of which districts
The Yogi government first changed the name of Mughalsarai station after the formation of the government in 2017. The government changed the name of Mughalsarai station to Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay station. Along with this, the name of Mughalsarai Tehsil was also changed to Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Tehsil. After this, the Yogi government changed the name of Allahabad to Prayagraj. The names of four railway stations of Prayagraj were also changed in February 2020. Faizabad district was changed to Ayodhya.

There is also a demand to change the names of these cities
Aligarh may be renamed as Harigarh. The Vishwa Hindu Parishad had first raised the proposal to change the name of the district in 2015. Agra may be renamed as Agravan. The exercise to change the name of Agra has started. The name of Firozabad can be changed to Chandranagar, the proposal to change the name of the district has gone to the government. Farrukhabad may be changed to Panchal Nagar. From here, MP Mukesh Rajput has raised the demand to change the name of Farrukhabad. Former minister Swati Singh has raised the demand to change the name of Ghazipur to Gadhipuri. Apart from this, the demand for renaming of Azamgarh, Ghaziabad, Muzaffarnagar has also been made in the Yogi government. 

Also read: LPG Cylinder Price in UP: Which city of UP has the cheapest gas cylinder? Learn What’s Worth In These Big Cities


Leave a Comment