BCCI announced the schedule of 2022-23 domestic season, the return of this big tournament

BCCI Announced Domestic Season Schedule: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday said that the Duleep Trophy Indian domestic season will be started from 2022-23. The BCCI also said that the Irani Cup will also be a return to the domestic calendar, where over 1500 matches will be held from the first week of September 2022 to the middle of March 2023.

Ties to start from 8th September
Duleep Trophy (September 8 to 25) will be played between six zones (North, South, Central, West, East and Northeast) on a knockout basis. The two multi-day tournaments will be followed by the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The two white-ball tournaments will be played between 38 teams divided into three groups of eight teams and two groups of seven teams each, the BCCI said in an official statement."text-align: justify;"> In the Irani Cup to be held from October 1 to 5, the current Ranji Trophy champions Madhya Pradesh will face the team of Rest of India. In the Duleep Trophy, there was a match between five zones in the knockout format. But later, it became a three-team tournament, with the top two teams advancing to the title clash after the end of the round-robin phase.

Last held in 2019-20 Duleep Trophy
Duleep Trophy was last held in 2019-20 season, while Irani Cup was last held in 2018-19 season . The Ranji Trophy was canceled for the first time in the 2020-21 season due to the Kovid-19 pandemic, while a shortened season of the tournament was held in the 2021-22 season. But now, in the 2022-23 season, it will return to its normal format starting from December 13 after the end of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy (October 11 to November 5) and Vijay Hazare Trophy (November 12 to December 2) .

More than 1500 matches to be played
BCCI also said that the Ranji Trophy will be divided into Elite and Plate categories, which means there will be two winners. There is no plate division in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy and Vijay Hazare Trophy. This means that the plate group topper will not face off against the elite team in the pre-quarterfinals as the competitions are divided. The two finalists in the Plate group will be promoted to the Elite group for the 2023–24 season.

BCCI said, "The Ranji Trophy, India’s premier domestic tournament, will have two categories. 1 elite and 2 plates. The Elite Group will consist of 32 teams and will consist of 4 groups of 8 teams, with each team playing 7 matches in the league stage. The top two teams from each of the four groups will directly qualify for the quarterfinals."”He added, "The plate group will consist of 6 teams with 15 league matches and the top 4 will directly qualify for the semi-finals, while the bottom two teams will play against each other for 5th/6th place. There will be both elite group and plate group league matches. On December 13, the Plate League will conclude on January 29 and the Elite Group will end on February 20."

Women’s T20 Trophy to be held from October 11
In the women’s domestic cricket calendar, due to the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup to be held in South Africa in February 2023, the Senior Women’s T20 Trophy will be the first competition which Starting from October 11 and ending on November 5. It will be followed by Senior Women’s Inter-Zonal T20 and T20 Challenger. The 50-over format will then be the Senior Women’s ODI Trophy and Inter-Zonal. Both Senior Women’s Inter-Zonal T20 and ODI have been resumed from this season.

BCCI will also organize a 50-over Under-16 tournament for women for the first time since 2006. BCCI said, "The competition will help girls get a feel for competitive cricket at an early age and help them reach the under-19 level easily."

Read also:

Jasprit Bumrah Ruled Out: India suffered a major setback, Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of Asia Cup

Aisa Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma said about Pakistan – once again the tricolor has to be hoisted

Leave a Comment