Comparing prize money: 2022 FIFA World Cup, 2022 T20 World Cup, and 2019 ODI World Cup

ICC T20 Trophy. (Photo Source: ICC)

By winning the 2022 T20 World Cup on November 13, England became the first team to hold the T20 World Cup and the ODI World Cup at the same time. They beat New Zealand in the final of the 2019 World Cup and Pakistan in the latest final of the 2022 T20 World Cup. 

England won $ 1.6 million as the winning prize for lifting the 2022 T20 World Cup and $ 4.0 million for winning the 2019 ODI World Cup. Pakistan, the runners-up of the T20 World Cup 2022, grabbed $ 800,000 and losing semi-finalists India and New Zealand won $ 400,000 each.

Standing T20 World Cup 2022
Winner $1.6 million
Runners-up $800,000

In the 2019 ODI World Cup, New Zealand, who suffered a heartbreaking defeat in the final on boundary count, won $2.0 million while losing semi-finalists India and Australia managed to win $800,000 each. The total tournament prize money was $10 million for the 2019 World Cup and it will be definitely more for the upcoming 2023 ODI World Cup. These are how the numbers look like in cricket but when it comes to other sports, like football, how does it appear? Let’s find out.

Standing Prize Money
Winner $4 million
Runner-up $2 million
Losing Semi-finalists (2) $800,000
Winner of each league stage match (45) $40,000
Teams who pass the league stage (6) $100,000
Total $10 million

2022 FIFA World Cup prize money is set at $440 million:

Despite a rapid growth in cricket and its aspects, football remains one of the most followed sports in the world. With 32 teams participating, the 2022 FIFA World Cup will be one of the most fascinating sporting events of this year, so the massive prize money follows.

FIFA has allocated a whopping $440 million as prize money for the upcoming mega tournament starting in Qatar on November 20. The winner will get $42 million, a lot more than what England won by winning the 2019 cricket World Cup. The runner-up of the 2022 FIFA World Cup will win $30 million and the third-placed team will grab $27 million. 

Standing Prize Money
Winner $42 million
2nd Place $30 million
3rd Place $27 million
4th Place $25 million
5th-8th Place $17 million
9th-16th Place $13 million
17th-32nd Place $09 million

FIFA has set $60 million as prize money for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, much bigger than men’s cricket World Cup tournaments.

Leave a Comment