England announce squad for Caribbean tour; Lauren Winfield-Hill earns T20I recall

Lauren-Winfield Hill
Lauren-Winfield Hill (Photo Source: Twitter)

England Women’s team is all set to embark on its next month’s limited-overs series tour of the West Indies as the selectors named the ODI and T20I squads for the same on Tuesday, November 22. The announcement marks the return of regular skipper Heather Knight after an injury lay-off, Vice-Captain Natalie Sciver and veteran seamer Katherine Brunt.

Experienced opener Lauren Winfield-Hill has also made a return to the T20I set-up after she was not considered for the squad that featured in the Birmingham Commonwealth Games 2022. Knight is fit again and raring to go as she has successfully overcome a hip injury after undergoing surgery.

She was not able to play all the matches for England during their Commonwealth Games campaign and was forced to sit out of the recently culminated The Women’s Hundred.

On the other hand, Sciver is back in action after she took a mental health break at the start of September and Brunt has also been named in the T20I squad. She (Brunt) was rested for India’s white-ball tour to England recently.

Winfield-Hill has been rewarded for her amazing outing during The Hundred 2022. While playing for the Oval Invincibles, she scored 219 runs at an impressive strike rate of 136.02 and also recorded a healthy average of 54.75.

She finished the tournament as the fourth-highest run getter. Despite not being named in England Cricket Board’s list of centrally contracted players earlier this month for the upcoming year, she seems to be a part of the team management’s plan ahead of the T20 World Cup next year in South Africa.

Both England and the Windies will play three ODIs and five T20Is. The three ODIs that will be played during the tour are a part of the ICC Women’s Championship Cycle and begin in Antigua on December 4. The T20I leg of the tour will start from December 11 onwards.

ODI team: Heather Knight (c), Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver, Danni Wyatt

T20I team: Heather Knight, Lauren Bell, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt

Leave a Comment