For the first time in four and a half decades, there is no candidate from the Azam Khan family in the Rampur elections.

Rampur By-Election 2022: Samajwadi Party has announced the name of its candidate for the by-election to be held on Rampur assembly seat. Asim Raza, close to Azam Khan, will be in the fray from this seat. This will be the first time in the last 45 years that Azam Khan or any member of his family is not in the fray for the Rampur Assembly seat. The SP has not given ticket to Azam’s wife Tajin Fatima or her daughter-in-law from here. The seat fell vacant after the conviction of Azam Khan in the hate speech case.

Azam was MLA from Rampur for 10 times

Azam Khan has contested 12 times from Rampur assembly seat, out of which he won ten times and had to face defeat twice. Azam entered politics in the year 1977 when he contested from this seat for the first time. The Congress used to dominate this seat in those days. Azam had to face defeat at the hands of the Congress in the first election. After Azam won consecutively in the five assembly elections held between 1980 and 1993. In the 1996 elections, he once again had to face defeat from Congress’s Afroz Ali Khan. After this he was sent to Rajya Sabha. 

From the year 2002 to 2022, Azam Khan again won the assembly elections for 5 consecutive times. In the by-election held after Azam Khan became MP in 2019, his wife Tajin Fatima contested and won. Meanwhile, many cases were filed against Azam Khan and his family. In 2014, Azam’s wife and son had to go to jail in a case of land grab in the Akhilesh Yadav government. So on the other hand many cases were also registered against Azam Khan and he remained in Sitapur Jail for many months.

Asim Raza near Azam in the ground

Azam Khan contested the 2022 assembly elections while being in Sitapur jail and won. Recently, after Azam Khan was convicted in the hate speech case, his assembly membership was cancelled. After which by-elections are being held on this seat. But this time the SP has fielded Asim Raza from here. This is the first time in the last 45 years that no one from the Azam family is contesting from Rampur seat. BJP Akash Saxena has been declared as the candidate. Bypolls will be held here on December 5, the results of which will be out on December 8. 

Read this also- UP Bypolls: On the question of taking ‘help’ of Shivpal Yadav, Keshav Prasad Maurya said – We do not take advantage of resentment

Leave a Comment