ICC Women’s ODI team announced, Harmanpreet got captaincy, Smriti-Renuka also got place

ICC Women’s ODI Team Of The Year 2022: International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the best women’s ODI team. Harmanpreet Kaur has been named the captain of the Women’s ODI Team of the Year announced by the ICC. Harmanpreet had a great performance in ODIs last year. In the year 2022, while captaining Team India, he also did a great batting. Indian opener Smriti Mandhana and fast bowler Renuka Singh have also found a place in the Best Women’s ODI team announced by the ICC. 

ICC Best Women’s ODI Team

India and South Africa have maximum three players each in the best women’s ODI team announced by the ICC. Apart from this, 2 women cricketers from Australia, 2 from England and one from New Zealand have been included in the team. Harmanpreet Kaur has been named captain of the ICC ODI Women’s Team of the Year. 

Great performance by Harman

In the year 2022, Harmanpreet Kaur performed brilliantly in batting and bowling apart from captaining the team in ODI cricket. Harman scored 2 centuries and 5 half-centuries in ODIs last year. Apart from this, he also took 5 wickets while bowling excellent off-spin. Seeing her impressive performance, she has been made the captain of the ICC Women’s Team of the Year.  

On the other hand, if we talk about Smriti Mandhana, then last year she also got burnt in ODIs. This left-handed opening batsman scored six half-centuries including a century in ODIs in the year 2022. On the other hand, Renuka Singh impressed a lot with the bowling. Renuka, who made her debut in February 2022, took 18 wickets in seven ODIs. During this, his best performance was four wickets for 28 runs. 

Women’s Team of the Year at a Glance

Alyssa Healy (wicketkeeper, Australia), Smriti Mandhana (India), Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa), Nate Siver (England), Beth Mooney (Australia), Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain, India), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Ayabonga Khaka (South Africa), Renuka Singh India, Shabnim Ismail (South Africa) 

Read also:

ICC Awards 2022: ICC announced the best Test team of the year 2022, only one player from India got a place

IND vs NZ: Rohit Sharma broke Sanath Jayasuriya’s record, became the third batsman to hit most sixes in ODIs

Leave a Comment