IPL 2022, Match 20 RR vs LSG, Stats Review: Shimron Hetmyer, Yuzvendra Chahal shatter flurry of records enroute to RR’s triumph

Shimron Hetmyer. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Shimron Hetmyer was at his devastating best as he blasted an unbeaten 59 runs off just 36 deliveries with a solitary four and six massive sixes. With the ball, Yuzvendra Chahal took four wickets for 41 runs in his spell as Rajasthan Royals defeated Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) by three runs in Match 20 of IPL 2022 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Trent Boult was also lethal with his opening spell and eventually finished with figures of 2/30.

Speaking about how the match panned out, LSG won the toss and opted to field first. Marcus Stoinis and Dushmantha Chammera replaced Evin Lewis and Andrew Tye respectively as RR also made two changes. Kuldeep Sen came in for Navdeep Saini and Rassie van der Dussen for Yashasvi Jaiswal for the Royals. Jos Buttler and skipper Sanju Samson both amassed 13 runs apiece with Devdutt Padikkal scoring a run-a-ball 29.

It was not an ideal debut for South Africa’s Van der Dussen as he got dismissed for just four runs. Hetmyer then began his heroics as the powerful West Indian clobbered six huge maximums with R Ashwin also contributing with a 28-run knock. The latter then got retired out as he became the first player in the history of IPL and fourth overall in all T20s to get retired out. RR posted 165/6 with K Gowtham and Jason holder both snaring two scalps apiece. Holder was the most expensive bowler for the Giants as he leaked 50 runs.

Chasing 166 for victory, Rahul bagged a second consecutive golden duck at the Wankhede Stadium as Boult disturbed his stumps. The New Zealander also dismissed Gowtham, who came in to bat at no. three, for a first-ball duck in the first over. Holder and Ayush Badoni both registered single-digit scores as LSG were reduced to 74/5.

While De Kock fought hard for his 32-balls 39-run knock, Marcus Stoinis, who came at no. eight, scored an unbeaten 38 runs off 17 balls with two fours and four sixes. The Australian tried hard to chase down the target but it was too late for the Giants as they got defeated by a narrow margin of three runs. For his four-wicket haul, Yuzvendra Chahal was declared the Player of the Match.

Meanwhile, here are some of the important stats and numbers from Match 20 between Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants in the Indian Premier League 2022:

 2 – Shimron Hetmyer scripted his second-highest score (59*) in the IPL. His highest score is 75 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2019.

150 – Yuzvendra Chahal reached the landmark of 150 wickets in the league.

251 – Quinton de Kock completed 250 fours in the IPL.

203 – Devdutt Padikkal reached 200 fours in the T20 matches.

2 – KL Rahul became the third player to bag two golden ducks in an IPL season. Sanath Jayasuriya in 2008 and Unmukt Chand in 2013 are the other two players.

7512 – Quinton de Kock completed 7500 runs in T20 cricket.

3 – Chahal registered his third-best figures (4/41) in the IPL.

6 – Quinton de Kock got dismissed by Yuzvendra Chahal for the sixth time in the IPL, which is the most he has been out against. R Ashwin has accounted for De Kock’s wicket four times.

1 – Chahal has now taken the most wickets (11) this season. Kuldeep Yadav and Umesh Yadav are both tied at the second spot with ten wickets each.

4 – RR recorded their fourth-narrowest victory in terms of runs (3). They have won by a margin of two runs thrice in the IPL.

2 – Marcus Stoinis batted at no. eight just for the second time in a T20 match. Another instance was also in the IPL, in a clash between Punjab Kings and RR in 2018. Interestingly, K Gowtham also batted at no. three-position in that game. Both played for opposite sides then.

2507 – Hetmyer reached 2500 runs in the T20 matches.

1 – R Ashwin became the first player to get retired out in the IPL and fourth overall in all T20s.

262.00 – Shimron Hetmyer has a devastating strike rate of 262.00 in the slog-overs this IPL campaign. He has scored 131 runs in 50 balls with 13 maximums in the final five overs.

51 – K Gowtham reached the milestone of 50 wickets in T20 cricket.

Leave a Comment