Name of 21 islands named after the soldiers of the country, honor to four brave men of Himachal Pradesh

Andaman And Nicobar Islands Named: 21 islands of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands will be known as the country’s brave Param Vir Chakra winners. These include the names of Major Somnath Sharma, Lieutenant Colonel Dhan Singh Thapa, Captain Vikram Batra and Subedar Major Sanjay Kumar of Himachal Pradesh. The Paramveer Chakra, given for indomitable courage and bravery, is the country’s highest honour. So far, out of total 21 Paramveer Chakras, four have also come from Himachal Pradesh. Small in size and big in spirit, the hill state of Himachal Pradesh is a matter of pride.

Major Somnath Sharma 

The first Paramveer Chakra given by the Government of India was given to Major Somnath Sharma of Himachal Pradesh. Major Somnath Sharma was born on 31 January 1923 in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh. Immediately after independence in 1947, Pakistani infiltrators attacked Jammu and Kashmir. During this, Major Somnath Sharma was given this honor for his indomitable courage. Major Somnath Sharma not only fought bravely, but also worked to fill the soldiers who went to fight with him. Major Somnath Sharma had said that till he has the last soldier, the last bullet and the last breath, he will not retreat even an inch.

Capt Vikram Batra

Major Dhan Singh Thapa

Major Dhan Singh Thapa was born on 10 April 1928 in Shimla. Dhan Singh Thapa of 8 Gorkha Regiment is remembered for the Indo-China war in 1962. He had failed two attacks of Chinese soldiers on 19-20 October 1962 with a handful of soldiers. Many Chinese soldiers were killed in a hand-to-hand fight. After the war, China made Major Dhan Singh Thapa a prisoner of war and he was given many tortures in jail. After many years he was released as a prisoner and after that the Government of India honored him with Param Vir Chakra.

Rifleman Sanjay Kumar

Born in Bilaspur, Himachal, Sanjay Kumar had introduced his bravery in the year 1999 Kargil war. He was from 13 Jammu and Kashmir Rifles. On July 4, 1999, at Mushkoh in Jammu and Kashmir, he had to reach the enemies through a steep climb. In the Kargil war, Pakistani intruders had captured the peaks from where Indian soldiers were their target. While climbing the steep climb, he came in the grip of enemy firing, but he first killed three intruders. Then leaving the machine gun, the enemies running away were killed with their own machine gun. For this indomitable courage and bravery, he was awarded the Param Vir Chakra.

Islands named after these 21 soldiers of the country

Major Somnath Sharma, Subedar Honorary Capt Karam Singh, 2nd Lt Ram Raghoba Rane, Naik Jadunath Singh, Company Havildar Major Piru Singh, Capt GS Salaria, Lt Col Dhan Singh Thapa, Subedar Joginder Singh, Maj Shaitan Singh, CQMH Abdul Thapa Hameed, Lieutenant Colonel Ardeshir Burjorji Tarapore, Lance Naik Albert Ekka, Major Hoshiar Singh, Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal, Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon, Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran, Naib Subedar Bana Singh, Captain Vikram Batra, Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey, Subedar Major Sanjay Kumar and Subedar Major Mar Retd (Honorary Captain) Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav has been named after 21 islands of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Read this also- Himachal News: Himachal Pradesh CM Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu met PM Modi in Delhi, what happened?

Leave a Comment