Nepal’s 3 big political parties and their chiefs… who decide the future of the country

Nepal Politics: Looking at the possibility of major changes in the politics of Nepal, the people of the country will choose their fate. The people of the country want a stability and keeping this in mind the votes are also going to be cast. Voting is going to be held here on 20 November. There has been a special thing about Nepal’s politics that no Prime Minister has ever been able to complete his term here. Like India, here too the term is of 5 years only.

The way in every country the people have the right to choose the leader of their country, similarly Nepal also has this right. This time big political parties are contesting elections together with small parties. The political temperature is high here. The biggest thing is that there is a need for a pause in the politics of Nepal, yet it is being speculated that a full majority government is not going to be formed here.

These political parties are the main parties?

3 major parties of Nepal…

  • Nepali Congress
  • Communist Unified Marxist-Leninist (UML) Party
  • Maoist Centre

These parties have led different coalitions in the past. However, due to power struggle and infighting, no one completed 5 years of tenure. Political observers say that the CPN-UML (Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist)) led by KP Sharma Oli will emerge as the second largest party. Giving tough challenge to some heavyweights of political parties.

CPN(MC) is headed by former Prime Minister Pushk Kamal Dahal alias Prachanda, who openly claims that he played a key role in forming and toppling the government. However, this time the CPN-MC has also promised to give priority to political stability. Voting for the 275-member House of Representatives, the lower house of the Nepalese parliament, will be held on November 20.

Political parties of Nepal and their heads

  • Communist Party of Nepal i.e. UML… whose leader is Khadga Prasad Sharma Olik
  • Nepali Congress…. whose leader is Sher Bahadur Deub
  • Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist-Centre)…whose leader is Pushpa Kamal Dahali
  • People’s Socialist Party (Janata Party)…led by Manhat Thakur and Upendra Yadav

Nepali Congress coalition government

Parties are included in the coalition government led by the Nepali Congress in Nepal. The parties included in the coalition government include Nepali Congress, Rashtriya Jan Morcha, Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist Centre), Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Socialist) and Janata Samajwadi Party. In the last general election, about 90 per cent votes went to these parties, while 10.37 per cent votes went to other parties. None of those parties alone could get 3 percent votes, so all those parties were deprived of getting proportional representation seats. 5 big parties got the benefit of this.

Nepal and political stability

According to political analyst Rajesh Ahiraj, this time there is less enthusiasm among the people regarding the elections. He said, ‘‘There is no possibility of peace and political stability in the country after the elections. No party is likely to get a majority in the elections and it will take a long time for them to form a new government, and even after a negotiated government is formed, stability is unlikely.

Read also: Nepal Elections 2022: Know the political history and power struggle of Nepal… When, who and how elections were conducted?

Leave a Comment