Ruckus again in MCD meeting, mayor election could not be held, AAP sitting on dharna

Delhi Mayor Election: The Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) met again on Tuesday (January 24), two weeks after the unsuccessful attempt to elect the MCD mayor. However, the mayor could not be elected even on Tuesday. The proceedings of the MCD have been postponed indefinitely. After the scuffle in the last meeting, security was tightened at the municipal building and civic center premises in view of the mayor’s election. Know the big things related to the mayoral election.

1. A large number of civil defense personnel, including women members and marshals, were deployed this time as compared to the deployment made in the municipal building during the first sitting of the House on January 6. Police and paramilitary personnel were deployed outside the House as part of security measures, an official said. 

2. The election of the mayor and deputy mayor was to be held in the first meeting held on January 6, but the house was adjourned after members of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the BJP created ruckus and clashed. The proceedings were adjourned due to which the election could not be held.

3. According to the program shared by the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) on Tuesday, the proceedings of the House started at 11 am. Despite opposition from the Aam Aadmi Party, the members nominated by the Lieutenant Governor took oath before the elected representatives. 

4. Despite the objections of AAP councilor Mukesh Goyal, the presiding officer Satya Sharma administered the oath to the nominated members before the elected members. After taking the oath, the nominated members chanted ‘Jai Shri Ram’’ and ‘‘Bharat Mata Ki Jai’’ raised slogans of After this Satya Sharma called the elected councilors to take oath.

5. After the oath-taking of all the newly elected members of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, the election of mayor and deputy mayor was to be held, but as soon as the councilors took oath, an uproar started amid sloganeering. The Presiding Officer adjourned the House sine die till a new date for the election of the Mayor is announced. BJP and AAP corporators clashed outside the House after the House was adjourned. During this the police had to intervene.

6. Members of the Aam Aadmi Party sat on a dharna demanding that elections be held today itself. You MLAs and councilors sat on dharna in the gallery inside and outside the house. AAP leaders said that if the mayor’s election is not held today, we will continue to sit here. AAP MLAs said that BJP does not have the numbers, so it is scared and does not want to allow the elections. AAP demoed the election in the house and showed that they have the numbers to win the mayoral election. 

7. Shaili Oberoi and Ashu Thakur are AAP’s candidates for the post of Mayor. BJP has made Rekha Gupta a candidate. Aale Mohammad Iqbal and Jalaj Kumar are AAP’s candidates for the post of deputy mayor, while Kamal Bagdi is the BJP candidate. It is the first time in many years that the civic body will have a woman mayor, irrespective of which side wins. 

8. 250 councilors of Delhi, seven Lok Sabha and three Rajya Sabha MPs and 14 MLAs nominated by the Legislative Assembly will vote for the election of Mayor. Delhi Assembly Speaker has nominated one BJP MLA and 13 AAP MLAs to vote. Altogether there are 274 voters and AAP has the support of 150 members while BJP has the support of 113. While the Congress has nine corporators, two others are independents.

9. BJP MP Ramesh Bidhuri said, "We lost the MCD election by a small margin, but we will win the mayoral election. Your people who bought tickets by paying Rs 50-70 lakhs will now know the truth." BJP MP Gautam Gambhir said, "We do not do politics like Aam Aadmi Party. I hope the elections are peaceful. Whoever wins the post of mayor should work for the people of Delhi."

10. Elections to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) were held on December 4 and the counting of votes took place on December 7. AAP ended the 15-year rule of BJP in MCD by winning 134 wards. The BJP won 104 wards in the 250-member MCD house, while the Congress won nine. 

Read also- 

Delhi Mayor Election: AAP and BJP councilors again clashed with each other over the mayoral election, police intervened

Leave a Comment